Elive doesnt see my ext4 partition on USB disk

I have a 1TB USB disk partioned with two fat 32 partitions and one ext4 partitions. Suddenly Elive cant see the ext4 partition, it could yesterday. So I hooked the disk into PuppyXenial 7.5 and there the partition was. And I could make new folders and read the content in folders, everything as normally. Back to Elive, connected the disk and the two fat 32 partitions were there but not the ext4 partition. Hm...

I am not that good with /etc/fstab vut I suppose you have to add some entries there to AutoMont the partition... May be Puppy is doing that automatically...

@Thanatermesis

Does Elive, automount connected drive ? Or @Gunnar_Mossberg has to modify /etc/fstab

As I work around I am curiou to see if you can see the EXT4 partition with the DISKS application or GParted.... I think with DISKS you'll be able to mount it until someone gives a more intelligent answer than mine

To have a good idea what's going on:
Open a terminal and use the command:
"tail -f /var/log/syslog" and then connect the USB drive.

That way you can see what's going on internally, including the errors.

1 Like

Yes, my ext4 partition is there. Still I cant open it. The FAT partitions act normally.

~ ❯❯❯ tail -f /var/log/syslog
Feb 25 08:19:55 localhost mtp-probe: checking bus 4, device 3: "/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb4/4-6"
Feb 25 08:19:55 localhost mtp-probe: bus: 4, device: 3 was not an MTP device
Feb 25 08:19:58 localhost kernel: [26383.946797] scsi 5:0:0:0: Direct-Access Lenovo USB Hard Drive 1A PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
Feb 25 08:19:58 localhost kernel: [26383.947008] sd 5:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
Feb 25 08:19:58 localhost kernel: [26383.947974] sd 5:0:0:0: [sdb] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/932 GiB)
Feb 25 08:19:58 localhost kernel: [26383.948219] sd 5:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
Feb 25 08:19:58 localhost kernel: [26383.948221] sd 5:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 43 00 00 00