Browser - Websites not acknowledging

Hello! I am a newbie to Elive. I have installed it on my computer, and rapidly noticed the outdated browsers. I installed Palemoon 28.16.

I really don't have a problem with outdated browsers, except when I use some websites with security. My bank (no big surprise) intercepts my login attempts and tell me I need to update my browser for security reasons. Even one of the hotel rewards sites refused to function with outdated browsers. Seems to be an increasing problem.

I know, due to the old kernel version (and maybe for other reasons), you can't install a modern browser, but is there any workaround for this problem, such as convincing the website that your browser version is up to date when it really isn't?

I cannot install any more recent version of Palemoon... I have tried. Apparently package files ending in "linux-x86_64-gtk2.tar.xz" will not work; only Palemoon package files ending in "linux-i686.tar.xz" will work on my system. The last package file (in Palemoon's archive) that had this ending was Palemoon 28.16

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Hi!

I was going to compile the latest Palemoon for 3.0, but that's currently held up because the install scripts don't want to work. Don't recall what the problem was.
I certainly will try again sometime soon though.

You should be able to modify the User-Agent in Palemoon. The user agent is basically what your browser sends to the server to say "oh hi this is firefox 69 on windows 9 kthxbai". You can find the latest one, such as Chrome on Windows 11 pretty easily. Just configure Palemoon to use that user agent and perfect!

I doubt palemoon supports client hints so that shouldn't be a problem.

Latest UA that I found: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/96.0.4664.45 Safari/537.36

The main issue isn't the kernel, it's the fact that Stable is 32-bit. :face_with_head_bandage: