Elive for schools / universities

Today I received in the server an email, answering the "one week later email about please talk and share elive to the world", saying:

I am very satisfied with Linux Elive. I'm a Linux user for a short time and I'm still learning. Linux Elive helps a lot in learning. It will be a pleasure to contribute to you. I just want do this safely without taking any risk. It will also be a pleasure to share your wonderful work. A big hug.

So I think could be a good idea to make a special version of Elive for schools / universities, nothing too much complex, simply a selection of packages that may be more needed for schools, removing other ones like games, and maybe a Kiosk mode (this can be more difficult to implement), just to have a version with a good page saying "this system is made for schools, and is easy, and you will learn, ready to use"

2 Likes

I highly agree BUT:

I think we should do Retro first.

1 Like

Did you read my post with this article?:

Could be a reason (at least) to keep kiosk and game mode available. :thinking:
It's basically about giving ownership and responsibility in place of taking away freedom through monitoring.

I do agree that with a school version extra stuff could be installed but that would depend on what kind of schools (and age groups) we're building for.

OTOH we could offer a basic, minimal version and a good tutorial/howto on what (newcomers are often overwhelmed) to install and which program/app choices we recommend, depending on the goal....thus allowing anyone to have what they want/need with the best, fast and stable software available.

I think the best way to attract (and keep) newcomers is to do a little "hand-holding" and give support without being condescending or throwing RTFM s. :magick: